Edna E. Lockwood continues Bay-wide heritage tour
Rose DiMatteo, captain of the Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum’s Edna E. Lockwood, reports that the 1889 bugeye’s heritage tour around the Bay will continue through the end of September.
Edna Lockwood recently underwent a two-year restoration of her nine-log hull at CBMM. She was re-launched into the Miles River in St. Michaels, Md., in the fall of 2018. This summer and fall, Edna is traveling to ports around the Bay, bringing free, experiential programming and interpretation of traditional Chesapeake Bay boatbuilding techniques and the oystering industry.
During Edna’s stay at each port, CBMM staff members will offer free deck tours, giving guests a chance to explore the bugeye while docked. All ports of call are weather dependent, with the full schedule here.
Built in 1889 by John B. Harrison on Tilghman Island for Daniel W. Haddaway, Edna Lockwood dredged for oysters on the Chesapeake Bay through winter, and carried freight—such as lumber, grain, and produce—after the dredging season ended. She worked faithfully for many owners, mainly out of Cambridge, Md., until she stopped “drudging” in 1967. In 1973, Edna was donated to the Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum by John R. Kimberly. Recognized as the last working oyster boat of her kind, Edna Lockwood was declared a National Historic Landmark in 1994.